The High Road

Steve Back & Ken Dravis

Vintage songs and sounds from the days of Eddy Arnold, Jim Reeves, Johnny Cash and more.

From Ken: Steve Back and I have been buddies since 1982. We have worked in Colorado as coal miners and in a duo, keeping in touch over the years wherever life had taken me. With his deep, rich voice rivaling that of Johnny Cash, Jim Reeves, Eddy Arnold and some of my other music heroes, I was honored that he asked me to work with him on this project. Our vision was to share some country classics memories with you and just have fun working together again. “The Hustler” is one of my favorites and a song, which Steve wrote some years ago. For this album, I composed “The Older I Get, (The Slower I Go)” to which my body, the mirror and doctor all agree.

From Steve: I would like to dedicate this CD to my mother who passed away a few years ago; she always encouraged me with my music and was always supportive. Also, I would like to acknowledge the talent and hard work that Ken put into this project. All the instrumentation, production & mastering was done by Ken. We have been friends for many years and we hope that you enjoy listening to this CD as much as we did recording it.

From us both: Without the multi-million dollar budget of a major record label providing studio musicians, engineers, producers, a mastering house and more, part of our challenge was to knuckle down and make this record literally from the ground up. We hope you enjoy our efforts. Steve Back: Lead & Background Vocals Ken Dravis: Lead & Background Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Piano, Harmonica, Percussion, Arranging, Engineering, Editing, Mixing, Mastering Drums: Ken Dravis & Drums On Demand Joe Talucci on “The Hustler” Produced by Ken Dravis & Steve Back Photographer: Pattie Dravis All songs used with permission Ken Dravis Music©2007 BMI

Recorded and Mastered at Aspen Leaf Recording Grand Junction, CO

Update: I still honor and miss my dear friend Steve since his passing in 2012. I'll never forget you brother...

Please respect our hard work and do not copy and distribute this CDs. It’s illegal, unethical, immoral and not a nice thing to do by a good person like you….

Read more… close
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13